Today is the death anniversary of a great poet from our state – Bharathiyaar. I posted a poem of his on my WhatsApp profile, a lovely piece (see below) and I reproduce a rough translation by one Ms. Gayathri Veeraragavan in Quora.

Line 1 – She walks with her head held high (nimirndha nannadai); She has the eyes that sees righteousness and truth in everything around her (nerkonda parvai);

Line 2 – She is bold and is not afraid of anyone in this world, since she doesn’t have to be, for she does everything in the right way with morality and values (nilaththil yarkum anjaadha nerigalum)

Line 3 – She is educated, her thoughts and deeds reflects the knowledge and the humility bestowed by it. (Thimirndha nyana cherukkum iruppadhal) And the same knowledge gives her confidence and bravery. (Semmai maadhar thirambuvadhillai aam)

Passage 2:

Line 1 – Illiteracy or being uneducated is darkness. (amizhndha paer irulaam ariyamaiyil)

Line 2 – If a women is threatened to live in such a darkness and ignorance (without education),(Avalam eithi kalai indri vazhvadhai)

Line 3 – She opposes and fights for her right with courage, and that is a woman’s virtue. (Umizhndhu thalludhal Penn aram aagumam)

Line 4 – Lo Modern woman! Can you hear the saying?! (Udhaya kanni uraippadhu kaettiirO)

Along with the verse was a small image of the poet himself. People who know of this poet know that his signatures are his turban and mustache. You can simply draw a turban with a handlebar mustache and most Tamilians would know who that refers to. I hope.

I got a reply from someone in my contact list that said “The image is by a particular political party that is against “our religion” and “our caste”, you should use a better photo of the poet that shows that he is from “our religion” and “our caste”” – meaning, use an image that shows him with the symbol of religion on his forehead.

If I hadn’t gotten a stroke and I am actually writing this post, it just means that my vascular system is more robust than I think it is.

Why is there so much division among us? Religion, caste, nation, boundaries, skin colour, langauge. Every where I look there is some bloodshed, some heartbreak, some inhuman word or deed in the name of religion, caste, nation, boundaries, skin color and language. In one part of the world, there is genocide based on religion, on another there is violence. And in yet another there are subtle actions that seek to divide and conquer. I am disgusted with us. I also feel devoid of hope for our race. The hatred, the “dwesham”, does not seem to have limits and characteristics. It is as much in the minds of the uneducated, as it is in the minds of the educated and rich.

I wrote this to her, and I am sure she has blocked me, which is fine.

I care about his words, not his forehead.

To be frank, I don’t care if religion dies. All religion, including ours, is evil in the human mind. Any concept that sows the us-versus-them in the human mind is evil.

As drastic as that may sound, I will not rise in protest to save my “religion” because it is merely a dogma.

I follow traditions for the sake of culture. Not religion. My god is my own personal caretaker. I will not confuse Her with a dogma to be protected.

Yep! I am an agnostic through and through. Culture is good. Religion, evil!

The rage has subsided, and has been replaced by the dull sense of hopelessness. I see no future for the human race. I hope it ends soon.

9 thoughts on “Rage

  1. It’s really shameful. The identity politics that is a ruse for bringing us together actually divides us by design. Great response and I’m happy that your cardio-vascular system is still working. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your answer to your contact. So many of the problems in today’s society seem to me to be caused, or at least inflamed, by so-called religious groups. Yet it seems to me that what they support in very many instances, are in complete opposition to how I hear God’s teachings, whatever they might call their God.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment